RSS Feed

Silly me…

Posted on

How could I have been working on this for the last few weeks and NOT POSTED ON THIS!!!!

A while back (March maybe?) my doctor (a homeopathic practitioner) diagnosed me with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS).
From the site womenshealth.gov some symptoms of PCOS can include;
  • irregular menstruation (none, infrequent, irregular bleeding)
  • infertility
  • acne
  • increased hair growth (face, body, etc.)
  • weight gain (usually around the waist)
  • thinning hair
  • skin tags under arms or neck area
  • type 2-diabetes
I had been having rapid weight gain early in 2005 despite working out and eating healthy. When I kicked up my workouts and healthy eating I was able to lose weight but very VERY slowly despite the extreme effort. Out of frustration I just gave up on exercising that hard and eating mindfully. So a less than consistent work out routine combined with okay eating habits lead to an even quicker weight gain.
Then in September I wasn’t having my periods anymore. So my doctor requested me to get some blood work done and after looking at the results he diagnosed me with PCOS. Which makes sense now that I’ve looked at the symptoms. I have 5 of the above symptoms and have had most of them since 1999.
Having PCOS puts me at a higher risk of having a heart attack, high blood pressure, and diabetes. This is what concerns me most.
So now what????
My doc. gave me a remedy that helped me have my period (albeit for 2 1/2 weeks), and gave me a list of supplements I can take to help manage it (as there is no cure for it). I’m hoping that once I start my supplement regimen that I’ll be able to balance things out a bit and get control over my weight and menstruation.
About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

Leave a Reply

