RSS Feed

New Beginning (sort of)

Posted on

Santa Cruz, CA


Well I finally made the move from Salinas to Santa Cruz. I traded in a 700+ sq ft apt w/a washer & dryer for a 400 sq ft granny unit with no washer or dryer, but a small yard, 40 minutes further from where I work.

Crazy? Not really. Not when you consider that I feel much more at home in Santa Cruz than in most other places (for now anyhow).
First of all, it’s vegan and GLBTQ friendly. The Del Mar theater serves vegan brownies and uses margarine for it’s popcorn, there is a local co-op 3 blocks away from me that serves tofu scramble in the a.m., a pizza place close by that uses vegan cheese, shops that have vegan beauty and household products galore. The Saturn Cafe serves up the best vegan nachos & shakes I’ve ever had. Lot’s of cafes, thrift stores, and plenty of wide bike lanes. The weather is great most of the time, and there is art and culture everywhere.
I feel like I can create here and be inspired here.

BabyGrrrl isn’t acclimating too well yet. She has a small yard now, but HATES it when I go to work. She already started to bully the two (big) dogs that live on the property, but I know she’s afraid of them.
Moving Day (I almost forgot to leave enough room for BabyGrrrl)

The move itself was tedious. A lot of purging was involved and it STILL wasn’t enough. It turned out to be a metaphorical lesson in “wants and needs” and my new place houses only the essentials. Now if I could only get rid of the crap in my storage…
About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

3 responses »

  1. I’m happy for you! 🙂 I’ll have to come visit sometime, I have a cousin that lives there too. I’d love to live in SC. L’sigh. 😀

    Reply
  2. If you think Saturn’s shakes are good, you MUST try one at Dharma’s (in Capitola). I recommend the date or chai. Yum-o!

    Reply
  3. Hmm A G needs to head down to the West Coast. It is the best coast. Babygurl looks like such a sweetie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

