RSS Feed

Thunder, Lighting, and Outdoor Tubs

Posted on

As usual, I didn’t know what I was going to do for my birthday until the day before. As some of you know, I share my birthday with my mom who passed away 13 year ago. About nine years ago, I adopted the ritual of either going somewhere I’ve never been before or doing something I have never done before as a way of celebrating the free spirit my mother had buried deep inside her.

This year a dear friend talked to me about the relaxing and soothing nature of bath houses. I decide to take his idea and use it as my birthday experience. I went to Well Within and luckily they had an outdoor tub available for my special day. Funny thing is that it has been raining almost daily now and today was no exception. But wouldn’t you know it, just as it was getting closer to my appointment time, the clouds were parting and by the time I had a full tub of warm fragrant bath water ready, the sun came out.

It was such a relaxing experience, but do I really need to tell you that? It was amazing being outdoors hearing the birds, watching the clouds drift by, and drinking tea.

Close to the end of my bath, I noticed the clouds coming back. I enjoyed this change as I love overcast skies and the contrast between the crisp January air and warm bath water was amazing. A few minutes later, I heard a rumble.

Then a louder rumble. Thunder. “Okay” I thought, “I can sit through this too.” I love the sound of thunder.  Then I saw it. The flash of lightning. “Uhm, that’s my queue to leave.” Now I love a great lighting storm, but I don’t think that me being in water is a good way to watch it. So I took the opportunity to rinse off and jump into the sauna. Ahhh. Meditation with the sounds of the rain and thunder. That’s more like it.

Happy Birthday Mom.

Outdoor Sauna and Tub

The Relaxing Tub

Yummy House Tea

Well Within Website

About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

5 responses »

  1. happy birthday! this looks so awesome.

    Reply
  2. I read the post, don’t think you mentioned the actual location. I would love to visit this spot..could you post an address? sounds like an amazing experience.

    Reply
  3. Happy belated birthday! A day at the spa sounds awesome, right now! We like the Tea House Spa on Elm Street, downtown.

    Reply
  4. this sounds so nice. I am happy to hear that you were able to celebrate in such a relaxing, special way.

    Reply
  5. Updated with the website to the spa. Thanks for the suggestion Adelita. How could I have not done that!
    Oh and…
    Wow, I really need to proofread before I post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

