RSS Feed

Killing Me Softly

Posted on

Assassination by Groupthink

Every once in a while a song and/or video (sometimes a film, photo, painting or other art medium) comes along that captures what I’m going through. When this happens, it always moves me to the core, brings me to tears, and creates in me a shift in consciousness based on a raw synchronized connection. Yeah, it’s that deep and I live for those moments.

I had heard about the “controversy” surrounding Erykah Badu’s latest video “Window Seat”, but being a skeptic, I knew that there was a deeper meaning to her video that was being overlooked. I just didn’t expect this.When I saw the video, I have to admit, I cried.

First, because as the lyrics rolled out, I felt like I was hearing my soul cry out in words it previously could not find. Talk about “Killing Me Softly”. On the surface it’s a song to someone else, the one I call my shadow, but on a truer level, it’s a song to myself.

Second, because I identify with the image of her exposing herself and being assassinated for it. I think anyone who takes the initiative to show others an authentic part of themselves risks being rejected and alienated for it. It’s been a lifelong lesson for me, but not as painful as in recent months, and one that feels like such an injustice. People want others to change what is uncomfortable for them to accept rather than let others be their true selves.

There is also something about the image of her walking in public, so raw. It was like she was screaming out and very few people acknowledged her. Those that did either looked away in discomfort or stared, unsure of what to  make of it. People do not want to be made uncomfortable with truth.

To see the video in its original (official) and reexamined versions go here: http://www.erykahbadu.com/

Erykah Badu "Window Seat"

Window Seat
So , presently I’m standing
Here right now
You’re so demanding
Tell me what u want from me
Concluding

Conentrating on my music , lover , and my babies
Makes me wanna ask the lady for a ticket outta town…

So can I get a window seat
Don’t want nobody next to me
I just want a ticket outta town
A look around
And a safe touch down
Window seat
Don’t want nobody next to me
I just want a chance to fly
A chance to cry

And a long bye bye..

But I need u to want me
Need you to miss me
I need your attention
I need you next me
I need someone to clap for me
I need your direction

Somebody say come back
Come back baby come back
I want u to need me
Come back come back baby come back
Come back come back baby come back
Come back come back baby come back

So , in my mind I’m tusslin’

Back and forth ‘tween here and hustlin’
I don’t wanna time travel no mo
I wanna be here
I’m thinking

On this porch I’m rockin’
Back and forth light Lightning Hopkins
If any body speak to Scotty
Tell him beam me up..

So can I get a window seat
Don’t want nobody next to me
I just want a ticket outta town
A look around
And a safe touch down
Window seat
Don’t want nobody next to me
I just want a chance to fly
A chance to cry

And a long bye bye..

But I need you to miss me
Need some body come get me
Need your attention
Need your energy yes I do
Need some one to clap for me
Need your affection

Somebody say come back
Come back baby come back
I want u to need me
Come back come back baby come back
Come back come back baby come back
Come back come back baby come back

But can I get a window seat
Don’t want nobody next to me
I just want a ticket outta town
A look around
And a safe touch down…

I just need a chance to fly
A chance to cry
And a long

Bye bye……..

About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

One response »

  1. Pingback: “La Mission” « Mi Vida Vegan

Leave a Reply

