RSS Feed

A Day in a Vegan Life

Posted on

Here is a photo journey of a day in a vegan life. Well, my life anyhow. Click on any image to view it enlarged.

It all started with a bike ride along the San Lorenzo River. I have never ridden along the whole length of this trail, so it was nice change from the usual trek along West Cliff. It’s been overcast in the mornings, which I actually like.

At one end of the trail I saw the artist work/live lofts I heard about a few years back and, of course, the San Lorenzo River right behind it.

On the opposite end of the trail is the Boardwalk. For some reason I thought the trail would lead to Seabright, but no. It led straight to the beach section of the boardwalk. On the way back I saw some kind of crane or heron. It was just standing there, frozen in position for quite a while. There was also a mama duck and her ducklings swimming along the river. Very cute.

When I got home I thought I’d make a nice protein packed Quinoa and Lentil Casserole, but alas, NO LENTILS! How did I let this happen??

BabyGrrrl exploring

So I opted to take BabyGrrrl for a walk around the neighborhood. But walking is not what we really do. In reality I am basically taking BabyG out to check her pee-mail.  Along the way we came across this discarded rat cage (I’m assuming). I’ve always loved rats, and if I had one, this would be the kinda home I’d hope to give him/her.

After the walk I set out to score lentils, but decided to stop by the Farmer’s Market first. Aren’t these cherry tomatoes lovely? I haven’t seen them in these colors for a while.

Asana

After the Market I stopped by Asana Tea House to do some on-line stuff. I usually don’t come here because they’re expensive, but I felt like checking out their vegan fare and having a bit of a change from the regular coffee house I go to.

Tea and an Almond Macaroon

I had an Almond Macaroon w/ a Blossoming Tea. In the picture to the right you can see the tea fully blossomed, although it looks like it’s sitting in pee.

Lentil and Quinoa Casserole w/ Spinach

After replenishing my stash of lentils I came home and got right down to what seemed to be the task of the day; cooking that damn casserole. The recipe is super easy. Fry up some potabellos and onions, toss in the cooked quinoa and lentils. Stir it up with some tamari and marjoram and there you go. I put my casserole over a bed of chopped spinach and sprinkled sunflower seeds over it. SO much yum.

So yeah, pretty un-eventful, but it’s better than other days I’ve had. Can’t complain about a relaxing drama-free day.

About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

2 responses »

  1. Cool blog, I’m vegan too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

