RSS Feed

Slutty Rice Cooker Quinoa with Kale, Garbanzos, and Cranberries

Posted on

Since going back to work, I’ve been looking at recipes for meals that I can make on the weekend and pack for the weekday lunch and have ready to re-heat for weekday dinner. I’m doing this to save money since going out for lunch adds up quick! Also, I get home so hungry that I typically go for anything quick, but quick typically means heavy carbs, over processed, or just plain unhealthy.

I found this recipe on VegWeb and modified it a bit. Not only is it quick, easy (1 step), and cheap, it’s healthy and delicious! Now, I’m not in the cooking mood often. I absolutely hate prepping, but this recipe is so easy that I was able to cook up a couple of extras to add to the original mix.

Slutty Rice Cooker Quinoa with Kale and Cranberries

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

3/4 cup water

3+ handfuls kale (as much as you like) rinsed and cut

1 can Garbanzo Beans

1 cup dried cranberries

3 tablespoons olive oil

6 tablespoons orange juice

Directions:

1) Place quinoa, water, kale, garbanzo beans, cranberries, olive oil, and orange juice in a rice cooker and turn it on.  Stir a couple times during cooking.  When rice cooker “pops” your done.

Makes: 1 serving, Preparation time: 5 minutes, Cooking time: 20 minutes

My Notes

I didn’t even have to chop anything, I  just tore the kale into small pieces directly over and into the rice cooker. It wilts similar to spinach so you can add more than you think you may need.

As the rice cooker was doing its job, I steamed some broccoli and sautéed some cubed tofu to add to the main dish when it was done.

For the tofu: In a pan, I popped mustard seeds in canola oil (a few seconds), then added cumin powder, onion powder, and garlic powder. I sautéed the spices for a few seconds and then added the cubed tofu. I sautéed the tofu for a few minutes and added Braggs Liquid Aminos (adds a nice flavor similar to soy sauce). I sautéed the tofu to my liking (slightly browned).

Once I had a  bowl full of the main dish, I mixed in the tofu and broccoli and sprinkled sunflower seeds on top.

About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

Leave a Reply

