RSS Feed

De-Selfie: KIOS Blog-A-Thon, Day 1

Posted on
smile

but I AM smiling!

Okay, so I’ve always had an issue with smiling in pictures. It never feels natural to me. So a smile where I show my teeth is stretching waaaay beyond my comfort zone. I think I was traumatized by my first experience with school pictures. (Insert time warp effect and dreamy harp sounds)

It was picture day for my preschool class. I practiced my smile in the hallway mirror that morning so that I wouldn’t be caught off guard when the “big moment” came. I remember feeling so excited as I stood in line. A box of black plastic combs passed by and I took one, even though I knew I didn’t need it. I remember the big bright light glowing behind the backdrop in the dark room. My heart was racing as I walked my 4 year old self to the seat in front of the camera. I looked up at the cameraman not really knowing where to focus. “Smile!” he said, and I did. I knew this. I practiced for this. It was going to be awesome!

I was so excited the day our photos arrived. The teacher walked around with the stack of large white envelopes and handed each student their photo pack. When I got mine, I knew I’d have the perfect smile. The suspense was killing me! Instead, what I saw was a chubby kid with frizzy hair and a half-smile smirk. I was DEVASTATED! “How could this be? I knew I smiled!?!?” To see THAT picture included in the collective class photo was simply embarrassing.

Needless to say, I have not liked having my picture taken. It took a while for me to warm up to selfies, but I find I like them much better than someone taking a photo of me. Day one of this Blog-A-Thon turned out to be a welcomed challenge, and for whatever reason, I felt compelled to stretch out of my comfort zone and try a somewhat toothy smile. Ha!

If You;d liek to participate in the Kickin’ It  Old Skool Blog-A-Thon visit: http://kickinitoldskool.blogspot.com/2013/11/get-ready-to-ruuumbbbllleee.html

About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

Leave a Reply

