RSS Feed

Show and Tell: KIOS Blog-A-Thon, Day 10

Posted on

Today’s KIOS Blog-A-Thon prompt is: Pick something you’d like to share with us and show and tell!

MondoI was rummaging through my old paintings a couple of years ago and came across this one. I painted this in March of 1991, however I have no recollection of it. I remember all of my paintings and drawings, so when I saw this one, it felt surreal. I recognize the colors, the brush strokes, and my signature at the bottom, but I literally have no memory of paining it.I don’t even remember giving it a title, but apparently I did. I named this piece “Mondo”. The fact that I don’t recall creating this still freaks me out a bit.

In March of 1991 I was living in Salinas, had graduated high school the year prior, was in a dysfunctional relationship, had no job, and wasn’t going to school. I was in young adult limbo hell. I drank a lot, stayed up all night, painted, smoked, and drove around in the middle of the night. It was a rich and painful time for me.

As I now know, “Pain pushes until vision pulls” (Rev. Michael Bernard Beckwith) and in less than four months I would find myself transplanted in another state. I really had no road map or sense of direction. All I knew was that I wanted something different from where I was. Oh boy did I get that. My life has been a patch work of visions, attempts, and re-starts since then. Some things I regret and some I am grateful for. But all in all, all my experiences have brought to a place of deep gratitude, spiritual connection, and closer to myself.

If you’d like to participate in this Blog-A-Thon, visit: http://kickinitoldskool.blogspot.com/2013/11/get-ready-to-ruuumbbbllleee.html

About Ahimsa

Vegan Freak, Dharma Punk, Curious Cat

Leave a Reply

